Now You’re Just Somebody That I Used To Know

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9NF2edxy-M

If there’s one song that makes me smile lately this is it, Walk off the Earth’s cover of Somebody that I Used to Know by Gotye. This song can be interpreted in lots of ways but one thing’s for sure I can totally relate with the song! Although, I admit, I’m quite mad with the you-say-love-me-but-you-left, but well life happens, that is.
The song tells the story of someone being left behind. Thought the break up was fine but in reality it’s not. Things are not ok. With a trace of bitterness, the person went through what I call remembering. It’s like being stuck on a replay. A blow-by-blow account of the how you screwed things up. But what makes this song pretty special is the resolve of the one who’s lfet behind. Instead of wallowing in self-pity, he pulled his self together and just simply cut all the bullshit with these words, “I guess that I don’t need that though ow you’re just somebody that I used to know”.
One of life’s surprises that I truly find amazing is a song that hits you right through your core. And this one song, well, it talks to me.

If there’s one song that makes me smile lately this is it, Walk off the Earth’s cover of Somebody that I Used to Know by Gotye. This song can be interpreted in lots of ways but one thing’s for sure I can totally relate with the song! Although, I admit, I’m quite mad with the you-say-love-me-but-you-left, but well life happens, that is.
The song tells the story of someone being left behind. Thought the break up was fine but in reality it’s not. Things are not ok. With a trace of bitterness, the person went through what I call remembering. It’s like being stuck on a replay. A blow-by-blow account of the how you screwed things up. But what makes this song pretty special is the resolve of the one who’s left behind. Instead of wallowing in self-pity, he pulled his self together and just simply cut all the bullshit with these words, “I guess that I don’t need that though now you’re just somebody that I used to know”.
One of life’s surprises that I truly find amazing is a song that hits you right through your core. And this one song, well, it talks to me.

Leave a Reply

